An Overview of the Central Development Region

20 May 2011

The Central Region (CR), one of the five development regions of Nepal, spans all three eco zones – mountain, hill and plains. Headquartered in Hetauda (Makwanpur district)1, the CR comprises three administrative zones (Bagmati, Narayani and Janakpur), 19 districts, 1,199 Village Development Committees (VDCs), one metropolitan (Kathmandu), two sub-metropolitans (Lalitpur, Birgunj) and 17 municipalities. The population density in the CR is 293 inhabitants per square kilometer, which is the highest among all five development regions and significantly above the national average of 157 inhabitants per square kilometer2. The CR is home of various ethnic communities for example Newar, Tamang and Thami and its inhabitants represent different religions, including Hinduism, Buddhism and Islam.....

Geographical coverage: Nepal

Source/Methodolgy: N/A

Sector: All