An overview of the Eastern Region of Nepal

20 May 2011

The Eastern Region (ER) of Nepal has three eco-zones: mountains, mid hills and the Tarai that vary between an altitude of 60 m and 8,848 m. Administratively, the region is divided into three zones (Mechi, Koshi and Sagarmatha), 16 districts, 893 Village Development Committees (VDCs), 1 Sub-metropolitan city, and 13 Municipalities. The ER is home to a mosaic of ethnicities and languages as its population comprises major castes and ethnic groups - Brahman, Chhetri, Rai, Limbu, Tharu, different Madhesi groups and Dalit castes. Its population speaks Nepali, Maithili, Tharu, Tamang, Magar, Sherpa, Bantawa, Gurung, Limbu and other indigenous languages. Major religions of the region include Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, Kirat and Christianity (CBS 2009)......

Geographical coverage: Nepal

Source/Methodolgy: N/A

Sector: Education
Download PDF (1.22 MB) Nepal_Eastern_Region_Overview_14 March 2013.pdf